Honor your father

The commandment to honor your parents can be found in Exodus 20:12.  I often envy other people who grew up with a father or both parents in the house; I did not.  Some fathers however are not worthy for such honor.  I have a dear friend whose father severely abused him; he wound up becoming a drug addict.  My father did no such thing; however he divorced my mother in 1973, and I only saw him for six weeks in the summers.  The last time I visited him as a teenager was in 1985; about nine months after David died.  His wife said that David was in hell for killing himself.

He was not in my life, but the only reason why I know the existence of God is because of him.  I owe my salvation to him.  He and I don’t see eye to eye on many things.  Imagine having a son who is gay, when all you wanted was for him to be the all-American boy.  He wanted John Wayne but got Betty Crocker.

My sister had a wonderful idea for his 70th birthday: get him a flagpole.  I thought this was a good idea, in that he is very patriotic and served in Vietnam.  Each of the four kids contributed money to this endeavor; I shelled out $200.  I didn’t do this because I think he was a super awesome dad.  He wasn’t.  He did not rescue me from the life of squalor my mother inflicted on me; he did not stop my biological grandfather’s abuse; he did not comfort me when David died (in fact he told me to just get over it).

I contributed money to the flagpole to honor him; not because he deserved it.  I love my father – from a distance (more than just miles).  I wish we were closer, but that will never be.  He is mostly a stranger to me.

Still, I honored my father.

Leave a comment