Forgivness

My stepmother died on April 7, 2000.  I hated her, because of what she said about David Wells and his death.  I hate all the years of misery and depression that she caused me.  But it turned out to be a pattern of lashing out against many people she was related to.  Maybe I’m obsessing.  Maybe I need to forgive.

The Bible says in Matthew 18:21-22: “Then Peter came to Jesus and asked, ‘Lord, how many times shall I forgive my brother or sister who sins against me? Up to seven times?’ Jesus answered, ‘I tell you, not seven times, but seventy-seven times.'”

She had been caught having an affair with my father by my mother.  She never forgave her and had an all consuming bitterness and resentfulness against her.  I don’t want to be like that.  The woman is dead, seventeen years now.  She said what she said, and time can not change that.  Still it is painful.

I lost someone I loved, and instead of showing me a bit of sympathy and compassion, she said David was burning in hell.  I need to forgive her.

My brother had a sick baby that was going to die.  She told his wife that this is what they got for having the baby out of wedlock.

Her sister was in a car accident and lost an eye.  She told her that it was God’s judgement because she lived an immoral life.

I need to forgive her.  What she said caused a rift between me and my father, that I am still trying to repair.  It caused me to seperate myself from my two half-sisters, so I barely know them.  I need to forgive her.  “Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.”  Ephesians 4:32

The phrase about forgiving and forgetting is not in the Bible.  I thought it was, and I thought my salvation was in question because I can’t forget what she said.

But I can forgive.

8 thoughts on “Forgivness

  1. I don’t think so. I believe she suffered from a sense of low self esteem due to being morbidly obese, and therefore lashed out at everyone else, trying to make them as miserable as herself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

