Want and jealousy

About to get all religious here, and I’m not sorry if this offends you who are reading this. I had an epiphany the other night, and have had what I was thinking about confirmed by others who are dealing with SSA (gay).  The issue at hand is the topic of the Ten Commandments.  We all know the story, how they were given by God, written in stone, to Moses.  This is detailed in the book of Exodus 20 of the Bible.  I won’t go through them all, because that is not the issue.

Jesus Christ came and expounded on the Ten Commandments, that it wasn’t just about obeying the letter of the law, but of the spirit. This is detailed in Matthew 5:21-28.  This applies to ALL the Commandments.  But what about the tenth one?  For those of you who do not know, the tenth Commandment from God is “Thou shalt not covet” as detailed in Exodus 20:17.  The meaning that is applied to this is to not be jealous over what your neighbor has.  This is regarded as relating to material possessions, and can be easily dismissed.

But what was Christ saying about the spirit of the Law concerning coveting? This applies to us who are SSA, especially:  we NOT are to covet the natural attraction that straights have towards women.  So much sadness, so many mistakes in my life could have been avoided if I had just understood this commandment.

I got with my wife, because I thought it would make me straight. It didn’t.  I was coveting what I saw in other men who are straight, and I paid for it in marital strife.  God did bless our union with children, and I will not disrupt family harmony by telling them, as it would be self-serving, to relieve some kind of guilt I feel about not being upfront with my wife.  Guilt is a tool of the enemy to drive a wedge between man and God.   I love my wife, and will do anything to protect her, even if it makes me uncomfortable.

Matthew 19:12 in the Bible says “For there are some eunuchs, which were so born from their mother’s womb: and there are some eunuchs, which were made eunuchs of men: and there be eunuchs, which have made themselves eunuchs for the kingdom of heaven’s sake. He that is able to receive it, let him receive it.”

A eunuch is one who does not reproduce, either naturally or a man-made eunuch (although this rarely happens anymore). Because I was SSA, and didn’t understand this Commandment, I coveted what my brother (all normal men) had: attraction to women.

There is wisdom when Jesus said it was good not to marry (Matthew 19:10). If we who are SSA covet what a straight man has, then we are not seeking the advancement of God’s Kingdom.  I urge anyone who is SSA to not covet what a straight man has and seek the advancement of God’s Kingdom.

Thus ends the theological discussion for today.

Leave a Reply

